Welcome to the University of Edinburgh (from a former student)!

wordleCongratulations on coming to the University of Edinburgh. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time here and had so many different experiences that I can barely think of them all. I also remember the first few weeks here, and just how daunting they were at times. As long as you remember though that everyone who joined is in the same position as you are, that most of the staff are really friendly and helpful (despite the attempts of some academics to thwart that impression) and later year students are also people too – unless you interrupt them during a two-day essay binge in the library.

I hope my enthusiasm for the University comes across in my writing. Anyone cynical may think that I am being paid to write this – I in fact am! But don’t see that as a bad thing, it’s just one of the many opportunities that the UoE offers the students here, which will look good on the CV but more importantly be fun and stay with you for the rest of your life.

It is these opportunities that drive me to write this. The Digital Footprints service is about far more than just what not to do on Facebook and Twitter (more on this later), but how to use your online presence to build up strong connections and future opportunities.

About Digital Footprints

Your *Digital Footprint* is the term that is given to all of your online activities, and the traces and records they leave behind. Everything from a post on Facebook, a Tweet, a check-in on Foursquare to emails and texts can be part of your digital footprint. There’s lots of resources already on our blog and other social accounts to help you learn more about it.

Watch what you post (during freshers and onwards)!

Do you want your family and friends to see your first University experience being far too drunk after a night out? I know University is fun, but keep an eye on what you’re posting! And when you have time, check the resources/workshops on ‘creating an effective online presence’ www.ed.ac.uk/iad/digitalfootprint

Watch the short video on ‘what is a digital footprint?’

And finally: Enjoy yourself

Whilst you’re at the University, there are so many different things to do that I couldn’t even begin to describe them all, as I simply won’t know them all. And no doubt some of the tips you would give to students coming in when you graduate will be different to the ones I would give. So all I can suggest is jump in, try new things, check your emails regularly (so many opportunities there that you’ll miss otherwise) and see what the University has to offer you. Have fun and good luck on your degree!

 

